A ROYAL VISIT TO VICTORY STREET
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

A Royal Visit to Victory Street

It’s been such a pleasure to follow the lives and loves of The Bryant Sisters and I’m so glad to have been able to read and review A Royal Visit To Victory Street – Book 5 in this series.

Book Description

From Amazon charts bestseller Pam Howes comes an emotional and uplifting saga about the power of family and a community trying to rebuild their lives after the terrible war that nearly destroyed everything…

1956, Liverpool. With the shadow of the war looming over them and bomb craters littering the surrounding streets, hope feels far away for the residents of Victory Street. When they learn that the Queen has chosen to visit them on a tour of Liverpool, the delighted neighbours bring back the wartime spirit. Can they possibly get the street ready in time?

Even a royal visit cannot take away Bella Harrison’s worries. Her son, fourteen-year-old Levi, has just told her he wants to move to America to join the rest of his father’s family. The news has so shocked Bella that she’s not sure she’ll be able to sing for the Queen, jeopardising all their plans for the big day.

Life has been hard for Levi, growing up as a mixed-race boy in Liverpool, but he’s the light of Bella’s life. The thought of losing him brings back the terrible memories of her father and sister dying during the war. If everyone pulls together to make the Queen’s visit an unforgettable celebration, perhaps she can persuade Levi that Victory Street is where he belongs.

But when Levi receives heartbreaking news from America and his move becomes uncertain, Bella starts to wonder if all her efforts to keep him in Liverpool have been for the right reasons. Can Bella find it in herself to sing for the big celebration, and make the right choice for her beloved son?

A totally unputdownable, heart-wrenching historical novel, packed with family secrets, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Diney Costeloe and Nancy Revell.

My Review of A Royal Visit To Victory Street

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Following the lives of the Bryant ‘sisters’ has been wonderful. I was so happy that there was another book in this series. I’ve read them all!

Post WW2 and with Queen Elizabeth on the throne, we find the Victory Street folk doing well. Bold Street Studios is well set. When a Royal visit is announced, it’s but natural that they would put on a show. While preparations are underway, Bella has to deal with her son, Levi’s need to discover his father’s heritage and his plan to move to the US.

Once again, the characters and their lives had me so caught up in the story. I love the progression of time and how the characters are developed even as new ones are introduced. As always, love, humour, family and community are large part of the book with interesting aspects of the music of the time woven in to the story.

Pam Howes’ style of storytelling is fresh and interesting, always keeping the reader invested in the story and the lives of the people in Victory Street.

A Royal Visit to Victory Street

Buy Link

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B7PKHJ8Vsocial

The Author

pam howes

Pam Howes is a retired interior designer, mum to three daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren and roadie to her musician partner.

The inspiration for Pam’s first novel came from her teenage years, working in a record store, and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. The first novel evolved into a series about a fictional band The Raiders. She is a fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to begin writing.

Connect with the author on Facebook | Twitter

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Pam Howes here: https://www.bookouture.com/pam-howes

Read what other reviewers are saying about the book

A Royal Visit to Victory Street

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

I received a copy of this from Bookouture via NetGalley for a review and participation in Books-On-Tour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: