Books & Book Reviews

The Girls Of Victory Street

The Girls of Victory Street is book #1 in what promises to be a great series.

The Girls Of Victory Street

From Amazon bestseller Pam Howes comes an emotional World War Two saga about three young women whose bravery and friendship will see them through the darkest times.

Liverpool, 1939. Bella Rogers thought her life was just starting; she can’t wait to get married to her childhood sweetheart, Bobby. But when war is declared and Bobby is called up, his letters stop, leaving Bella heartbroken and alone. Then her family is torn apart by tragedy when her angelic five-year-old sister dies from a terrible illness. They can barely afford a funeral, but the church is packed with the entire community, devastated for their loss.

Grieving for her sister and lost love, Bella finds a job at the Bryant and May factory, making matches. As bombs begin to fall, Bella gets the workers singing, keeping spirits high amidst the fear. When she meets a handsome American airman, Earl Franklin Jr, Bella’s heart finally starts to mend. Earl encourages her passion and soon she and her friends are offered the opportunity of a lifetime: to travel the country’s army bases, entertaining the troops and singing for victory. They name themselves The Bryant Sisters.

Just as her life is getting back on track, Bella finds herself pregnant – and Earl reveals a shattering secret that changes everything about their future. Devastated, she flees home to Liverpool, but as an unmarried mother, will her family reject her? And, as she faces a terrible sacrifice, will she ever sing with The Bryant Sisters again?

A heartbreaking historical novel about women in wartime, friendship, family and hope. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Wives of War.

Buy Links: Amazon: https://bit.ly/2WC2BnY

My Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This is the first book in The Bryant Sisters Series by Pam Howes. Set in Liverpool just as WW2 is starting, it’s the story of 15 year old Bella Rodgers and her friends Edie and Fran. The girls form a singing troupe – The Bryant Sisters, so called because they work in the Bryant Match Factory. Together with Bella’s boyfriend, Bobby, they are asked to boost the morale of the troops. And so they begin to travel all over the country entertaining. Bella is still struggling with the death of her young sister and when Bobby is called up to fight, she loses her way, falling in love with an American entertainer. This is a tale of heartbreak and the very sad outcome of war. Great characters and a lovely story line. I’ll be looking forward to reading the other books in this series.

Author Bio:

pam howes

Pam is a retired interior designer, mum to three daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren and roadie to her musician partner.

The inspiration for Pam’s first novel came from her teenage years, working in a record store, and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. The first novel evolved into a series about a fictional band The Raiders. She is a fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to begin writing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: