Blog

Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Hot Desk

We’re living in different times. Working life is not the same – with people either working from home or hot desking. I was glad to see a book set in these times – touching upon issues that a new working environment involves and throwing in some good romance in the mix! Hot Desk was an enjoyable read! Hot Desk Same desk, different days. A post-it note is just the beginning… Alice loves her job and wants to keep it – whatever the price. But then she’s told the company is switching to flexible working and hot desking…Alice’s desk might look

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Queen Of Thieves

Queen of Thieves is an unusual story set in unusual times. Queen Of Thieves Gangland was a man’s world – but the women knew differentLondon, 1946. Alice Diamond, the Queen of the Forty Thieves, rules over her gang of hoisters with a bejewelled fist. Nell is a slum girl from Waterloo, hiding a secret pregnancy and facing a desperately uncertain future. Sensing an opportunity to exploit Nell’s vulnerabilities, Alice takes her under her wing and, before long, Nell is experiencing the secret world of hoisting, with all the dangers – and glamorous trappings – that comes with this underworld existence.

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Starlight Cottage

I didn’t know what to expect from Starlight Cottage, but was delighted with this first book I’ve read in the Pepper Bay series by K T Dady. Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, drama, friendship, and love. Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin. The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories that intertwine with recurring characters. Starlight Cottage Anna Cooper and Jake Reynolds both

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Snowflakes Over The Starfish Café

Welcome to The Starfish Café – where you will find stunning views, delicious food and lifelong friendships. Isn’t that a great hook for a book? It worked with me. So glad I read Snowflakes Over The Starfish Café. Snowflakes Over the Starfish Café Blurb Two broken hearts. Since she inherited The Starfish Café, Hollie has poured her heart into the business, striving to keep her mother’s traditions and warm-hearted spirit alive. But behind closed doors Hollie is searching for true happiness, as she grieves the tragic loss of her family who were once the beating heart of the café… An

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Isabelle And Alexander

London, 1850 Isabelle Rackham knows she will not marry for love. Though arranged marriages have fallen out of fashion, hers has been settled for some time to combine the upper-middle-class wealth of her father’s coal mines with Alexander Osgood’s prospering Northern country textile mills. Though not a man prone to romantic gestures, Alexander is well-known as an eligible bachelor. His good looks have turned more than one head, so Isabelle is content to think of herself as Alexander’s wife. However, her marriage is not what she expected. Northern England is nothing like her home farther west in the lake country.

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Summer At The Vineyard

Although I’ve heard about Fliss Chester’s books, Summer At The Vineyard is the first book of I’ve read. Summer At The Vineyard Blurb Grab a glass and head to the South of France for fun and flirtation amongst the vines… Jenna Jenkins needs to get away. She’s been unceremoniously sacked from her job and it’s make or break time with her boyfriend Angus, so a summer job at the beautiful Chateau Montmorency in the south of France seems like the perfect solution. Planning the party of the century, dining out with suave Frenchmen, and giving in to a little temptation

Read more...
View More