The Hat Girls Heartbreak
Books & Book Reviews

The Hat Girl’s Heartbreak

The Hat Girl’s Story is a lovely sequel to The Hat Girl from Silver Street that I had read and reviewed a while back.

Book Description

Will it be tears or triumph for the Hat Girl from Silver Street?

It’s been five years since Ella Bancroft lost the love of her life, Harper Fortescue, and despite her friends’ encouragement, she’s still not been able to move on. The one thing keeping Ella smiling is the success of her hat shop, Ivella.  Her beautiful designs and fabulous creations are the first choice for the fashionable Edwardian ladies of Walsall, and her fame is spreading far and wide.

Darcie Newland won’t ever forgive Ella for stealing her fiancé and ruining her life, even though Harper was never really hers in his heart.  After being exiled by her parents to Scotland after yet another scandal, Darcie is now back in Birmingham and set on revenge.

As her hat shop flourishes, and the possibility of a new love appears when she least expects it, Ella finally dares to hope for a happy future. But storm clouds are gathering over the Black Country, and life might have other plans for the hat girl from Silver Street.

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with this page-turning story of friendship and fun, love and second chances. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews.

The Hat Girl's Heartbreak

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3RvKmLJ

My Review Of The Hat Girl’s Heartbreak

Set in the market town of Walsall in 1906, this is the story of Ella Bancroft, whose reputation as a milliner is growing rapidly. She is now a partner to Ivy Gladwin, her former employer and then competitor. Ella’s creations have now surpassed Ivy’s hats that seem rather outlandish now. Ivy, though happy that their business is doing well, is a tad jealous that Ella’s hats are more sought after.

With business increasing, Ivy and Ella take on three new girls. But soon all of them notice that Ivy is getting increasingly forgetful and short-tempered. This is truly worrying when it starts to get worse. Can they help Ivy to recover?

Ella continues to grieve the death of her fiancé, Harper Fortescue, five years after his passing. To help her cope with her loss, she starts to visit a medium to talk to Harper!

She is encouraged by her friends to find love again and when she meets Nicholas Gerard at soiree, she is tempted to do so. Nicholas woos her, but will their relationship turn to love and marriage?

When an old adversary of Ella’s turns up, things start to get a bit scary, as Darcie is determined to get her revenge. Will she succed?

The story is full of interesting twists and turns and told with a great deal of empathy and skill. There are elements of grief, tragedy, loss and romance, deceit and loyalty, revenge and friendship, that make this a fantastic read.

The characters are lovely with Ella’s neighbour, Flossie and the girls in the shop forming a warm, supportive community that are there for Ivy and Ella.

While this is a sequel to The Hat Girl of Silver Street, this absolutely delightful story makes for a great standalone too.

I’d love to read more of Lindsey Hutchinson’s writing.

The Author

Lindsey Hutchinson

Lindsey Hutchinson is a bestselling saga author whose novels include The Workhouse Children. She was born and raised in Wednesbury, and was always destined to follow in the footsteps of her mother, the multi-million selling Meg Hutchinson.

Sign up for her newsletter and connect on Twitter | Facebook | Bookbub and Goodreads.

Review of The Hat Girl's Heartbreak by @lhutchauthor via @rararesourcesand @boldwoodbooks and @netgalley Click To Tweet

Read what other reviewers are saying about the book

I received a copy of this from Rachel’s Random Resources and Boldwood Books via NetGalley for a review and participation in the blog tour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: