a LETTER FROM NANA ROSE
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

A Letter From Nana Rose

Three sisters receive a letter from Nana Rose, their recently deceased paternal grandmother.

“My darling girls. You were once so happy in this house. Now I’m gone, all I ask is that you spend one last summer here together on Dune Island. And please forgive me, your Nana, for the secret I’m about to tell you…”

Arriving at the honeysuckle-covered beach house inherited from her beloved grandmother, recently heartbroken Jill hopes to convince her two feuding sisters not to sell a place so full of happy childhood memories. But the envelope waiting on the driftwood table changes everything. In her elegant handwriting, Nana Rose promises a new letter will arrive each day of the summer revealing a family secret she took to her grave.

Shaken, Jill anxiously awaits each letter filled with Nana’s bittersweet memories of her own sister who she loved more than anyone—and lost far too young. But why did Nana never speak of this tragic loss to her grandchildren?

Watching the sunset each night and wondering how well they really knew Nana Rose, Jill feels her family is closer than they’ve been in years. And after a chance encounter with blue-eyed tree surgeon Alex, she wonders if Nana believed being back on Dune Island would help Jill find love, too?

But when Nana’s final letter arrives, the revelation about how her sister died is more shocking than Jill ever imagined. Suddenly, despite the chance of happiness with Alex, selling the house seems the only way forward. Will Jill find a way to forge new bonds of sisterhood and save their inheritance,or will Nana Rose’s secret tear them all apart?

An absolutely gorgeous, gripping and heartbreaking read about the importance of family, and how even our loved ones can keep shattering secrets. Perfect for fans of Carolyn Brown, Debbie Macomber and Mary Alice Munroe.

Buy The Book:

Amazon | AppleKobo | Google

My Review of A Letter From Nana Rose

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

I enjoyed reading Kristin Harper’s Aunt Ivy’s Cottage and this one was a pleasure to read as well.

Three sisters inherit their grandmother’s home on the beautiful Dune Island. While their memories of their grandmother and parents, all now deceased, are happy ones, will they be enough for them to decide to keep the home. The story is told from the perspective of Jill although not in the first person. Jill is the one fighting to keep the family home and the memories they share intact. But she really can’t afford to pay off her sisters, both of who are very keen to sell for reasons of their own.

Then the letters that their Nana Rose left for them start to arrive and they’re drawn into her story. Will what they learn about their family history change their decision?

A sweet romance and a lovely story of a bond between sisters of two generations – Nana Rose and her sister and Jill and her sisters. How these bonds help them to rise beyond their own needs and put the needs of their sisters and family first.

Meet The Author

aunt ivy's cottage

Ever since she was a young girl, there were few things Kristin Harper liked more than creative writing and spending time on Cape Cod, Massachusetts, with her family. Eventually (after a succession of jobs that bored her to tears), she found a way to combine those two passions by becoming a women’s fiction author whose stories occur in oceanside settings. While Kristin doesn’t live on the Cape year-round, she escapes to the beach whenever she can.

Connect with Kristin on her website and Twitter

Read what other reviewers are saying

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: