The Cuban Daughter
Books & Book Reviews - Fiction

The Cuban Daughter

The Cuban Daughter (The Lost Daughters Book 2) is a totally unforgettable and heartbreaking page-turner full of family secrets.

Book Description

Cuba, 1950: As Esmeralda moved past Christopher, her breath stilled as he caught her finger in his. It was only a split-second, their fingers intertwined in a hold so brief that no one could have possibly noticed, but it told her everything she needed to know. He didn’t just come to see Cuba. He travelled all this way to see me.

London, present day. When Claudia discovers that her grandmother was born at Hope’s House, a home for unmarried mothers, everything she thought she knew about her family is shattered in an instant. Looking down at a faded family crest, she is determined to discover how it can possibly relate to her grandmother. Soon Claudia learns that the crest belongs to the Diaz family, once one of the wealthiest dynasties in Cuba. Impulsively Claudia books a ticket to Havana, feeling sure in her heart that she will be able to uncover her family’s true story.

Arriving in the bustling and vibrant city she meets a young man named Mateo, a chef who loves nothing more than to cook his family’s recipes. As they get to know each other over dinner, Mateo says that his grandfather worked for the Diaz family and he too wants to uncover what happened.

But when they arrive at the Diaz family home, they find it completely abandoned as if preserved in time from the 1950s. It’s not long before they uncover a heartbreaking story about Claudia’s family and of a young woman who was forced to leave behind everything she’d ever known in search of true love.

As Claudia becomes closer to Mateo, will her family’s story of bravery and sacrifice inspire her to follow her own heart to Cuba? Or will the tragic love story force her home?

An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching novel about family secrets, lost loves and new beginnings. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Victoria Hislop.

Buy link: https://geni.us/B0BGQGC7YBsocial

My Review of The Cuban Daughter

This beautiful story takes place in two time frames – the story of present day Claudia in London and then Cuba and the mysterious tale of her great grandmother, Esmeralda, in Cuba then in London. Living in London, Claudia travels to Cuba to discover more about her family’s connection to a crest which has been left to her by her grandmother.

In the old days, Esmeralda, part of the wealthy families in Cuba seemed to have it all. That was until she fell in love with a man from London. The author paints a picture of a very close knit Cuban family, but Esmeralda’s choice might tear them apart. Will she give up wealth, privilege and most of all her father’s love and protection for the man who has captured her heart? This is the story that Claudia will gradually discover.

We see Claudia enjoying the sights and sounds and wonderful food of modern day Cuba. Will she follow her heart and stay on with Mateo?

I love how the author showed us such vivid pictures of Cuba – before and after the revolution.

Great characterisation and descriptions make this story so moving and difficult to put down!

About the author

Soraya Lane graduated with a law degree before realising that law wasn’t the career for her and that her future was in writing. She is the author of historical and contemporary women’s fiction, including the #1 Kindle bestselling novels The Last Correspondent and The Secrets We Left Behind

Soraya lives on a small farm in her native New Zealand with her husband, their two young sons and a collection of four legged friends. When she’s not writing, she loves to be outside playing make-believe with her children or snuggled up inside reading.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/SorayaLaneAuthor

Connect with the author:

Instagram @SorayaLaneAuthor

Website: www.sorayalane.com

Newsletter sign up:

https://www.bookouture.com/soraya-lane-email-sign-up/

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

I received a copy of this from Bookouture via NetGalley for a review and participation in Books-On-Tour.

A lover of words. A self-acceptance blogger. A creativity coach. A book reviewer. A woman happily journeying through midlife, moving from self-improvement to self-acceptance and enjoying being herself. I write about life, wellness, relationships at Everyday Gyaan. An avid reader, I review books at CorinneRodrigues.com and offer coaching to writers and bloggers and anyone looking to explore their creativity at The Frangipani Creative, located in Secunderabad, India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge