kerry tucker learns to live
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Kerry Tucker Learns to Live

The title of this book – Kerry Tucker Learns To Live – and the beautiful cover drew me in, and I just had to read it.

Book Description

Sometimes you have to reach the end of the road before you can start over.

Kerry is perfectly happy with her life. She gets up at the same time every day to deliver post to the winding lanes and little villages around where she lives, stopping for a chat at some of the houses along the way. Once a month she has Sunday lunch with her sister Beth’s perfect family, to eat roast chicken while Beth tells her why she should want more out of life.

Beth thinks Kerry is kidding herself. She thinks Kerry needs to move out of the horrible little apartment converted from the garage in their parents’ garden, find a better job, and maybe even meet a man. And now their parents’ house is up for sale, Beth is going to make sure Kerry gets a life… whether Kerry likes it or not.

Kerry knows something Beth doesn’t, though. She knows the happiest of marriages can hide dark secrets, and that even the people you love most in the world can betray you. She’s known that since she was seventeen years old, when she learned her father’s secret.

It’s far safer not to get close to people…

Isn’t it?

A brilliantly emotional novel about moving on and learning to live that will make you laugh out loud and cry buckets. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Matt Haig and Mike Gayle.

Buy Link: Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B7S9H2D3social

My Review of Kerry Tucker Learns To Live

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I’ve never read a book about a postie and enjoyed looking at things from their perspective for a bit. Kerry loved her job – her boss not so much. But her job was an escape from the recent loss of her mother.

Kerry was trying to cope with her grief, past memories and looking forward to moving out of the annexe she lived in, to the main house which was now vacant. But once again, things did not go according to plan and this started her off on a downward slope.

Kerry had a lovely character, positive and friendly, but the things that had happened to her in the past had eroded her self-esteem.

It takes a devastating loss for Kerry to sit up and realise that she couldn’t go on living the way she had been doing. She had to re-look at her life, try to go back into her past and find out the truth about things and start over.

I loved how smoothly this story flowed. Also it made me realize how easy it is to allow hurt to dictate the rest of our life. It was easy to empathize with Kerry, because what happened to her, could easily be the story of anyone of us.

Finding her way back to life, making good choices, and taking better care of herself with the support of her sister, friends and community, Kerry does indeed learn to live again.

A beautiful story of heartache, recovery from bullying and assault, healing of memories and the triumph of the human spirit, love and community!

Author Bio

Over her twenty-year writing career, Louise Voss has published books via pretty much every publishing model there is, from deals with major traditional publishing houses (Transworld and HarperCollins), to digital (Thomas & Mercer and Bookouture) and self-publishing. In 2011, she and co-author Mark Edwards were the first UK indie-published authors to hit the No.1 spot on Amazon UK. Louise has written thirteen novels in total, seven solo and six co-written, across psychological thrillers, police procedurals and contemporary fiction. 

Connect with the author : Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Louise Voss here

Read what other reviewers have to say about Kerry Tucker Learns To Live

You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

I received a copy of this from Bookouture via NetGalley for a review and participation in Books-On-Tour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: