Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

A Home In The Sun

I’m fast becoming a fan of Sue Moorcroft’s writing and couldn’t pass on the chance to read and review her latest, A Home In The Sun.

A Home In The Sun

Home is where the heart is…but what if your heart is broken?

When Judith loses her partner, she loses her life in Malta too – including the beautiful view from her sun-warmed balcony of the sparkling blue waters of Sliema Creek.

Back in England, Judith finds a spare room in her sister’s house where she grew up – but with it comes a whole host of family dramas. Nursing a broken heart, Judith knows she must find happiness again – and rebuild her life on her own terms.

Could an island in the sun be the answer she is looking for?

A wonderfully escapist summer read, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews.

My Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Another book from Sue Moorcroft set in an exotic location. This one is on the beautiful island of Malta.

Having left an ex-husband behind in England, the protaganist, Judith, is just settling down to her life in Malta. Enjoying the beautiful island life, she meets and falls in love with Giorgio Zammitt, partner of a bus tour company. Giorgio is married and because of the culture, can’t divorce his wife, but he and Judith settle down to a life together. His family are not happy at this, but they manage. Judith plows in some of her savings into his bus company too.

Then tragedy strikes and Giorgio is in a coma as a result of a drowning accident. Blocked out by his family, and just able to sneak a few visits to hospital, Judith decides to return to her former life in England. But her house there is let out to Adam Leblond and he’s reluctant to move out. Judith and Adam develop a working relationship and she finds herself turning to him more and more. But she’s unable to get over her love for Giorgio and makes a couple of visits back to Malta.

Although the book is sad and morose in parts, it’s a very believable story of an older woman, trying to make something meaningful of her life despite all the setbacks she’s had.

I really enjoyed reading about Malta and seeing Judith learning to understand herself better, love herself more and allow herself to be loved.

Meet The Author

Sue Moorcroft is a Sunday Times bestselling author and has reached the #1 spot on Kindle UK. She’s won the Goldsboro Books Contemporary Romantic Novel Award, Readers’ Best Romantic Novel award and the Katie Fforde Bursary. Published by HarperCollins in the UK, US and Canada and by other publishers around the world.

Connect with the author

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: