Wedding Bells On Victory Street
Books & Book Reviews

Wedding Bells on Victory Street

Having read Pam Howes’ The Girls of Victory Street, I was glad to read more about them in the Wedding Bells on Victory Street.

Wedding Bells on Victory Street

From Amazon bestseller Pam Howes comes a heartbreaking World War Two novel about a young woman trying to make the best of history’s darkest hour. Is a happy ever after impossible?

Liverpool, 1943. For Bella Rogers, life is looking up. She loves performing with The Bryant Sisters, the singing trio who have become the country’s sweethearts, putting a smile on the faces of the brave boys fighting the Nazis. But then tragedy strikes when a telegram arrives: Bella’s beloved father has been killed in France.

Unlike her poor Mam, Bella has someone to share her grief with. Her childhood love Bobby is home from the war. He lost a leg but she counts her blessings every day that he’s alive when so many young men haven’t made it back. Bella longs to give her heart to Bobby but she is hiding a secret that may change their lives forever. Will he still love her if she reveals the truth?

But when bombs screech down on Victory Street in the middle of the night, blowing houses apart, Bella may lose both the home she loves and the family who mean everything to her. With so much loss around her, will Bella be brave enough to snatch her chance of happiness? And when the war is finally over, will wedding bells ring out on Victory Street again?

An utterly unputdownable, heart-wrenching historical novel that will have you completely hooked from page one. You’ll lose yourself in this gorgeous wartime story of love, loss and family secrets. Perfect for fans of Wives of War, Nadine Dorries and Nancy Revell.

My Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I loved this second Bryant Sisters book that continues to tell the story of brave men and women who faced so much loss, heartache and pain and bravely soldiered on in wartime Britain

As the Bryant sisters continue to entertain the troops, Bella’s Mum still reeling from the loss of her young daughter, takes her other daughter and Bella’s baby to the countryside to keep them safe and also to prevent gossip about the baby. She’s constantly worried too about her husband who is serving somewhere in the front.

Meanwhile in Liverpool, Bella’s sweetheart, Bobby, home from war and recovering from the loss of a leg is waiting for Bella to come home. His Mum, Fenella and he are also recovering from the loss of his Dad in the same air crash in which Bobby was injured.

How will Bella, very much in love with Bobby, break the news that she’s had a baby with another man? Will Bobby accept her? How will his Mom react?

I absolutely love how everything came together so beautifully and unexpectedly in the end. I didn’t expect the story to have the kind of drama it did – a bit of a mystery, romance, a sweet baby and most of all love and fellowship with people putting family, community and country before their own needs.

Another sweet and heart-wrenching World War 2 story that’s a winner from this author!

Buy Wedding Bells on Victory Street on Amazon

Author Bio:

Pam Howes is a retired interior designer, mum to three daughters, grandma to seven assorted grandchildren and roadie to her musician partner.

The inspiration for Pam’s first novel came from her teenage years, working in a record store, and hanging around with musicians who frequented the business. The first novel evolved into a series about a fictional band The Raiders. She is a fan of sixties music and it’s this love that compelled her to begin writing.

Connect with the author on Facebook | Twitter

Read what other readers are saying about the book

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge
%d bloggers like this: