double deceit
Books & Book Reviews

Double Deceit

It’s only recently that I’ve started enjoying murder mysteries and crime thrillers and so was really keen on reading Double Deceit, an intriguing thriller set in Amsterdam.

double deceit

Double Deceit

What if you were framed for a murder you didn’t commit? A gripping, addictive thriller for fans of Angela Clarke, Mel Sherratt and Rachel Lynch.

Jennifer Smits is a young mother, married to a hotshot lawyer and living in Amsterdam. Her world explodes when her husband is found dead at a holiday park during a weekend getaway. Convinced that the police have failed in their investigation, she embarks on a desperate quest for the truth – but the deeper she digs, the more she gets enmeshed in a tangled web of lies, spun by a ruthless law firm.

As Jennifer’s search for answers intensifies, her grip on reality weakens. Barely able to manage her patients at the health clinic, or take care of her young son, Jennifer is at risk of losing it all – even her closest friends begin to desert her. And then a chance encounter with a charming stranger sparks a new chain of events that plunges her deeper into a world of threats and corruption. Soon, she begins to fear for her life – but who can she trust, and how far will she go in pursuit of the truth?

This is a gripping, addictive thriller that will make you question everything, including the flaws of forensics. Could we all be framed for a murder we didn’t commit?

What readers are saying about Double Deceit

‘A really entertaining ‘who dunnit’ that kept me guessing… a thriller at heart, with many twists and turns, but there’s a wonderful element of romance, and a deeper message touching on the transient nature of life. Definitely worth a read!’

‘Double Deceit was one hell of a book, the author has done an impeccable job in crafting out a plot that is not only very interesting to read, but one which is packed with little packets of surprises all the way through’

‘A perfect thriller from start to finish’

My Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Already struggling with the sudden and tragic death of her husband and having to take care of a toddler all by herself, Jennifer is confronted with the fact that her husband was hiding a lot from her. As she delves into his life, she begins to unravel a whole thread of evidence, which almost comes back as a noose to hang her!

With an unlikely accomplice she begins to realize that the law firm her husband worked at might be into some shady deals. But then tragedy strikes again as her accomplice is tragically killed. When she ‘accidentally’ meets another person who may be able to help her. But who can she trust? Are her instincts right? Or should she listen to the voice of reason of her friends who tell her to hand over matters to the Police and be done with it.

The protagonist, Jennifer, comes across as being both weak and strong at the same time. She’s very determined to find out more about her husband’s death, but also struggles to come to terms with her grief and despair often resorting to getting drunk to cope. She’s often also naive and trusting – so focused on getting to the bottom of the mystery that she puts herself and sometimes her son at considerable risk.

It’s difficult to write a review of this book without giving too much away. But I enjoyed it thoroughly. The author has done a great job of creating a riveting plot with plenty of twists that left me guessing. I thought the ending was a tab too hasty and I would have enjoyed more details.

I will be looking out for more books by this author.

About the author

double deceit

Julienne Brouwers worked as a pharmaceutical scientist and medical physicist before becoming a writer. She lives in the Netherlands, with her husband and three children, where she has published two successful thrillers, and lived in the UK and US for a total of four years.

Connect with the author Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Happy to be part of this blog tour

double deceit

Thank you JB Publishing for providing me with an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge
%d bloggers like this: