Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

The Faithfuls

The Faithfuls the second book of this author I’ve read. The first was The Sunset Sisters (also from the Sisterhood Series).

The Faithfuls

A summer house in the Hamptons doesn’t always buy happiness, as one woman is about to find out…

For fifteen glorious years, Gina Dewar has been married to her college sweetheart Bobby. Years in which she has lived in the small company town of Alma, New York, lovingly raised their son Calan, been secretary of the Alma Social Club, and tried not to think too often of the family she said goodbye to when she became a Dewar.

But then Bobby is publicly accused of having an affair, and Gina’s life changes overnight, overwhelmed with scandal, speculation and the agony of uncertainty.

Gina’s sister-in-law Alice is her polar opposite, she has never appreciated the traditional values of Alma, or tried to fit in with its quaint neighborliness. But in these devastating circumstances, could she be the one person who can help Gina piece her life back together?

After Gina makes the decision to trust Bobby, who has claimed his innocence all along, she hopes her family can move forward. But then she hears the rumor that his supposed mistress is pregnant and she is shaken to the core. With Alice’s unexpected support, Gina must face up to the secrets within her marriage, and do whatever she can to protect the people she loves…

A moving, emotionally gripping novel about family secrets and the unbreakable strength of female friendship. A stunning new read for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Dorothea Benton Frank and Nancy Thayer.  

My review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The book was full of twists and turns and everyone seemed to have had a secret to hide. There were many themes in this story – dysfunctional families, small towns that thrive on gossip, sexual abuse of women at the work place, parenting, love and relationships.

There were several characters in the story and the story was told from various POVs. I was absolutely riveted by the story, wanting to know how it would end, what choices the characters would make and how various issues would resolve themselves.

Since there are no sisters in the story, I was wondering why the author chose this to be a part of her sisterhood series. And then it all became clear to me. It wasn’t about sisters but the sisterhood of women and that was the central theme in this story. How putting aside their personal differences, women like Gina and Alice and even their mother-in-law, Tish, stood up to the patriarchy that was rife in the town and made choices for what was best for the Company and for themselves.

The Faithfuls is a thoroughly enjoyable piece of women’s fiction.

Buy Links

Buy Links:
Amazon |  Apple | Kobo | Google Play

Author Bio

Cecilia Lyra author The Faithfuls

Cecilia Lyra is an author with a reading addiction — a serious one. She is a lover of wine and all things chocolate, and the proud mother of Babaganoush, an English Bulldog. She is also a recovering lawyer, but asks that you do not hold that against her. 

Connect with Cecilia on Twitter.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher, Bookouture, for the opportunity to read and review this book.

Image by Please Don’t sell My Artwork AS IS from Pixabay

2 thoughts on “The Faithfuls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: