Sunset Sisters
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

The Sunset Sisters

The Sunset Sisters is my first book by this author and I really loved her writing.

The Sunset Sisters

A heartwarming summer read that is perfect to lay back and relax with on lazy, summer afternoons. Whether you’re at home, poolside, on the beach, etc, this book will envelope you and not let you out of its grasp until you have read each and every word of this bittersweet, emotional tale. This book is also perfect for anyone currently stuck in quarantine and on the lookout for a dramatic, page turning story that will pull you in and tune out the current events of the world happening around you.

Two sisters. A surprising inheritance. A summer that changes everything.

As children, half-sisters Cassie and Julie were nearly inseparable, bonded through happy, lazy summers playing barefoot in the surf and sleeping out on the porch of their grandmother’s Hamptons beach house. Though from wildly different backgrounds, each magical summer the girls were as close as only best friends, accomplices, sisters can be. But they haven’t spoken in nearly fifteen years—not since the funeral of Cassie’s mother—and now there is only resentment and painful memories between them.

Successful and self-contained, Cassie is shocked to learn the requirements of their Nana’s will—that she and Julie spend one final summer together in the Hamptons house in order to inherit. Cassie agrees reluctantly, she needs an excuse to leave Boston and give the growing rumors about her personal life a chance to die down.

And for Julie, who is discovering too late the cracks in her marriage, it is the chance to repair at least one damaged relationship. But for the two sisters to regain what they had, they will have to finally confront what happened the night Cassie lost her mother. With their Nana’s wisdom guiding the way, could this summer bring painful discoveries, and a new direction, for both sisters?

An emotional and riveting novel full of family drama and dark secrets. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

My review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

This is a story of sisterhood and finding your way back to love despite brokenness, heartache and a total breakdown of trust in the people closest to you.

There were so many complex characters and layers in this story. I couldn’t put it down.

Author Bio

Cecilia Lyra is an author with a reading addiction — a serious one. She is a lover of wine and all things chocolate, and the proud mother of Babaganoush, an English Bulldog. She is also a recovering lawyer, but asks that you do not hold that against her. 

Connect with Cecilia on Twitter.

Grab your copy here: Amazon | Apple | Kobo | Google

Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for a copy of “The Sunset Sisters” in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: