can i give my husband back
Books & Book Reviews

Can I Give My Husband Back?

Easily one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read in 2020, Can I Give My Husband Back? is fun and yet there’s more to it.

Can I Give My Husband Back?

Book Description

It’s normal to prefer getting a filling at the dentist’s to spending time with your husband, right?

I thought I was sorted on the life front. I was a heart surgeon with a loving partner and two gorgeous little girls. Except my husband’s version of ‘loving’ is lying, cheating and sleeping his way around London. Which means I definitely deserve a refund.

Unfortunately, moving on isn’t that simple. Just because I know how to operate on a heart doesn’t mean I know how to fix my broken one. Plus, I lost the receipt for him years ago so I’m definitely getting short changed.

But now I’m single, am I ready to mingle? There are a few minor issues:

1) The last time I went on a date double denim was in fashion and my eyebrows were horrendously overplucked.
2) Men wear stupidly skinny jeans now.
3) I don’t know how to use dating apps but at least I don’t have to get changed out of my pyjamas.
4) Sometimes the most promising thing you have in common with a guy is a shared love of prawns.
5) I don’t know whether to open a date with ‘hi’ or ‘hello’ or ‘hey’ and once I ended up saying ‘howdy’.

Everything happens for a reason, they say. There’s plenty more fish in the sea. But what happens when everything falls apart and you haven’t got a clue how to go fishing?

An absolutely hilarious and utterly relatable tale for anyone who has ever survived a nightmare relationship, felt a little lonely or nursed a broken heart with wine and carbs. This feel-good novel will get you back on your feet and genuinely laughing out loud. Perfect for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella.

My Review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

I would say that there are two levels you could enjoy this book on. One, the outrageously funny conversations and shenanigans that the Callaghan sisters get up to. Two, and at a deeper level, it’s the struggle of a smart, accomplished woman still trying to shake off the hurt caused her by a callous, serial cheater of a husband. How, Emma makes her way out of the maze of pain and into the light of healing and love makes a delightfully funny, yet sensitive read.

I fell in love with all of the 5 sisters, but Emma is the sweetest, kindest soul. I could identify with her poor self image, made worse by a broken heart. Yet, despite it all, she’s fiercely loyal to her sisters, would do anything for her children and is even forgiving and kind to Simon, her ex, who never seems to learn.

I also fell in love with Kristen Bailey’s writing. It takes a lot of talent to write a book that’s so funny, yet so sensitive, and deals with real life issues that a lot of people are facing. Divorce and its fallout – custody arrangements, trying to make sure that the children continue to respect the other parent, even while you have little regard for them; children having new siblings. And above all, trying to find love again.

If you want a great laugh and also want a book that tugs at your heartstrings, I’d absolutely recommend Can I Give My Husband Back?

Buy the book : Amazon |Apple | Kobo | Google

Meet the author


Mother-of-four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She has had short fiction published in several publications including Mslexia & Riptide. Her first two novels, Souper Mum and Second Helpings were published in 2016. In 2019, she was long listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. She writes women’s fiction and she hopes her novels have fresh and funny things to say about modern life, love and family.

You can find out more about her at her website. Connect with Kristen on Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Can I Give My Husband Back?
I received a ARC from NetGalley and the publisher, Bookouture in exchange
for an honest review.
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: