Wedding Bells at the Dog and Duck
Books & Book Reviews - Fiction

Wedding Bells at the Dog & Duck

The air has turned chill – at least by south Indian standards…and soon it will be Christmas! What better time to start doing a reading blast of Christmas stories? Today’s book is ‘Wedding Bells At The Dog & Duck .

Book Description

Ellie Browne, landlady of the Dog & Duck, is looking forward to a relaxing Christmas Day before the arrival of her and Max’s baby in the new year.

But with a snowstorm brewing outside, it seems that things might not go quite to plan. After the dramatic events of the holiday season, Ellie settles into her new life at Max’s huge country mansion, Braithwaite Manor, juggling work and family as best she can.

When she’s asked to help organise a summer wedding for one of her best friends it’s only natural that her mind turns to her own non-existent wedding plans! But with Max decidedly lukewarm on the subject and other family complications threatening to disrupt life further, Ellie fears there’ll never be wedding bells at the Dog & Duck after all.

The perfect feel-good love story for fans of Cathy Bramley, Heidi Swain and Julie Houston.

Purchase Link – https://mybook.to/weddingdogducksocial

My Review of Wedding Bells at the Dog & Duck

While I haven’t read the other books in the series, it was easy to catch up with the romance of Ellie and Max.

The story kicks off with a delightful Christmas Day gathering at the Dog and Duck, featuring Ellie’s friends in a dinner setting.

The ensuing drama and unfolding events drew me into the intricacies of the characters’ lives. Amidst the celebrations, one friend experiences wedding bells, while another embarks on a new romance. A mysterious stranger adds an intriguing element to the town, especially around Ellie’s sister-in-law, Katy and Ellie’s parents make life-changing decisions, adding layers of excitement and anticipation.

The initial worry surrounding Ellie’s hesitation to accept Max’s proposal creates an engaging subplot. Her persistent rejection keeps readers on their toes, wondering if Max will give up on the idea altogether. The subsequent journey is filled with humor as Ellie tries to make amends and rectify her decisions, resulting in numerous laugh-out-loud moments.

The climax of the story is nothing short of perfection, delivering a satisfying resolution that was well worth the wait. The intricate weaving of various plotlines, the humor, and the emotional depth make “Wedding Bells at the Dog and Duck” a truly captivating and memorable tale of love, friendship, and the magic of the holiday season.

Author Bio

Jill Steeples

Jill Steeples is the author of many successful women’s fiction titles – most recently the Dog and Duck series – all set in the close communities of picturesque English villages. She lives in Bedfordshire.

Social Media Links –  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jillsteepleswriter |

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jillesteeples

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jill.steeples/

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/JillSteeplesNews

I received a copy of this book from Rachel’s Random Resources and Boldwood Books via NetGalley for a review and participation in the blog tour. Read what others on this tour are writing about the book

Wedding Bells at the Dog and Duck

A lover of words. A self-acceptance blogger. A creativity coach. A book reviewer. A woman happily journeying through midlife, moving from self-improvement to self-acceptance and enjoying being herself. I write about life, wellness, relationships at Everyday Gyaan. An avid reader, I review books at CorinneRodrigues.com and offer coaching to writers and bloggers and anyone looking to explore their creativity at The Frangipani Creative, located in Secunderabad, India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge