Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Little Boy Lost

I was keen to continue reading this series with Detective Macknezie Price’s story running concurrently with the cases she works on. In Hidden Lake we get to know about her childhood memories of her father’s death and in Their Frozen Graves we see her father appear back in her life! I wondered what was going to happen in Little Boy Lost.

Little Boy Lost

The clear sky burst into flames of peach and gold, illuminating the small body leaning against the rocks. He looked even smaller than he had in the photos, purple marks blemishing his neck. His eyes were open, staring ahead at the vastness of the still water.

When three nine-year-old boys go missing on a field trip to Lakemore’s annual spring festival, panic tears through the small town. Detective Mackenzie Price and her partner Nick Blackwood lead the search, but no trace of the boys is found—until one of them is found murdered, a note stuffed down his throat.

“Find Johnny’s killer, or they all die.”

Johnny was supposedly a victim of Jeremiah, a serial killer Nick helped put behind bars nearly a decade ago for the murder of ten young boys. But when Mack and Nick pay him a visit, he claims that he knows nothing—and that he remains innocent of Johnny’s murder.

Then a second boy is found, another clue left on his body, leaving just one left alive. Desperate to save the last boy’s life, Mackenzie and Nick comb over Jeremiah’s case, only to discover proof of a shocking cover-up—and a killer who will stop at nothing to right the wrongs of the past.

Packed full of shocking twists and nail-biting suspense, Little Boy Lost is a truly unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Regan and Angela Marsons.

Buy The Book

Amazon | Apple | Kobo | Google

My review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

There are times when you read a couple of books by an author, you love them and then you read the next one and your interest wanes. You know the feeling, right? Well, that’s certainly not the feeling I got from reading the third book in the Detective Mackenzie Price series! If anything, I’m drawn into wanting to read more and will certainly be waiting for Book #4!

This story kept me on the edge of my seat, wanting a resolution to it and hoping that all was not lost. It was full of emotion. Macknezie’s partner, Nick Blackwood deals with guilt and confusion as the latest case of missing boys seems to be linked to an old case, his first, in which he got the perpetrator convicted. Mack too is dealing with fear and grief as an outside cop, Austin, is assigned to her father’s murder case and there seems to be someone trailing and threatening her. But telling this even to Nick, might make her spill the beans on how she, as a child, covered for her mother killing a man.

As Mack and Nick race against time to solve these crimes, there’s also a lot of pressure being exerted on the Police Department which is being seen as corrupt. The detectives keep coming up with different suspects and the mystery gets deeper and deeper. Will they be able to save the little boy and catch the culprit? Great suspense and an ending I didn’t expect.

About the author

Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thriller.

She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!

Connect with Ruhi on Twitter.

Read what other reviewers are saying about Little Boy Lost

Thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC for review. This is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: