Books & Book Reviews

My Husband’s Daughter

My Husband’s Daughter is a heartbreaking and emotional story of from Bookouture author, Emma Robinson.

My Husband’s Daughter

Cara took a deep breath and let it out slowly. ‘She’s not just my daughter,’ she said as she turned in her seat to face Jack. This man she had once loved, but who she hadn’t seen for nearly five years. ‘Sophie is your daughter too.’

It is just past ten o’clock on a cold Friday evening when Rebecca and her husband Jack’s doorbell rings. Outside is a woman who introduces herself as Jack’s ex-girlfriend Cara. And she’s holding the hand of a shivering, blue-eyed, four-year-old girl. Who she claims is Jack’s daughter.

Rebecca is shocked to discover he has a child from his last relationship – even one he hadn’t known about. Because becoming parents isn’t part of their life plan. They like children, but they also love their freedom and spending time together uninterrupted; the way that, if they wanted to, they could travel the world at a moment’s notice.

But Cara needs them. Because Cara has a devastating secret that she can’t tell anyone yet. Not even her daughter. A secret with the power to change all of their lives.

A secret that will ultimately mean Rebecca has to ask herself – could she find it in herself to welcome her husband’s child into her home, and into her heart?

A heartbreaking and powerful emotional women’s fiction novel about love, friendship and what it truly means to be a parent, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Kate Hewitt.

my husband's daughter

My review

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

I can’t begin to imagine what Rebecca felt when a woman, Cara, rolled up to her house with a child who she claimed was her husband’s daughter! For someone who had her life all figured out and was practical and organized to a fault, this was an earth-shattering moment. It makes her question her husband, wonder if Cara is telling the truth or is a con and turns her whole world upside down.

Jack and Rebecca were certain they didn’t want children and now here was a child who would be part of their lives. How would they handle co-parenting with Cara? Rebecca, always one to do the right thing, starts to take charge of caring for Sophie and pushing Jack to get more involved with Sophie.

She realizes that something is amiss with Cara. Is she on drugs? Is she trying to con them? When is she going to move out of their home? Is is working at all? All these doubts occur because more and more she’s left to look after Sophie. However, nothing quite prepares her and Jack for the truth.

This is a heartbreaking, yet beautiful story of a how one needn’t give birth to a child to start to be a parent to her! And how a mother learns to share her child with another woman. Told from the perspective of the two women, both strong and independent characters, the story is ultimately one of learning to expand our hearts to loving, giving and receiving. The author writes with a lot of emotion, creating very believable characters and weaving a beautiful story.

Buy My Husband’s Daughter

Amazon | Apple | Kobo | Google

Meet The Author

emma robinson

Emma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.

She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.

Connect with Emma on her Website | Twitter | Facebook

Read what other bloggers have to say about My Husband’s Daughter

my husband's daughter

I received an ARC of My Husband’s Daughter from the publisher, Bookouture, through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: