the bluebell girls
Books & Book Reviews

The Bluebell Girls

First love is hard to forget. The second book in Barbara Josselsohn’s Lake Summers series, The Blue Girls is a story about a couple finding their way back to love!

The Bluebell Girls

Three generations. One summer that will change everything.

Growing up in Lake Summers, Jenna and her mother Sweet were known as the bluebell girls. Jenna was carefree, always running barefoot through their wildflower garden, and no one expected her to live in their little lake house in the Adirondack Mountains forever. But when Sweet’s health declines Jenna must return from her life near New York, and with her own daughter Sophie in tow, their family home comes to life again.

Away from the stress of her recent divorce, Jenna finds comfort in lazy afternoons along the water and long nights watching Sweet tell Sophie stories about her long-lost loves. And when she meets Sweet’s new next-door neighbour Troy, she recognizes him instantly as the boy with whom she shared her first kiss.

Seeing Troy reminds Jenna of just how reckless she once was, but as their feelings resurface, so do the secrets they hide about a tragedy in their past. And with Sweet and Sophie closer than ever before, Jenna is forced to make a choice: will she flee again, or is she finally brave enough to be honest with Troy and settle down in Lake Summers forever?

An unforgettable romance that will whisk you away to the sunny shores of Lake Summers. Perfect for fans of Carolyn Brown, Debbie Macomber, Mary Alice Monroe and anyone who’s ever dreamed of rekindling a long-lost love.

My review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

This is a delightful story takes place in Lake Summers and essentially tells of three generations of women of a family and their interactions with each other. While this is also a romance, and a rediscovering of an old love, the family dynamics is also a large part of the story.

Jenna’s recent divorce has changed her view of life and of herself, and she journeys back ‘home’ hoping to eventually settle there. But in addition to taking care of her daughter and an ill dog, she finds that she needs to take on the care of her mother too. Despite her sister’s doubts about her ability to manage it all, Jenna rediscovers her bold and adventurous self and thrives!

The interactions between all the characters in this small town, where everyone knows everyone else are vividly told and enjoyable to read.

Love, hope, second chances and the importance of community are the threads that bind this book together beautifully.

I enjoyed the language, the conversations and the very real feel of this story.

Buy The Bluebell Girls on Amazon

Author Bio:


Barbara Josselsohn is an award-winning journalist and novelist who loves crafting stories about strong protagonists facing a fork in the road. Her novels center around second chances, family relationships and, of course, romance.

She is the author of the Lake Summers series set in the fictional town of Lake Summers, nestled in the Adirondacks Mountains, which includes the books The Lilac House and The Bluebell Girls. Before joining with Bookouture, she published The Last Dreamer, a women’s-fiction novel from Lake Union Publishing, along with hundreds of articles and essays in major and regional publications about family, home and relationships.

She lives just north of New York City and enjoys escaping to the beach or the mountains whenever she can. Other than writing, her biggest passion is her family: husband, her three kids, and her indefatigable shih-poo! 

Connect with the author : Website | Facebook | Twitter

Thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for the advanced reader’s copy. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Image by Frauke Riether from Pixabay

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: