a dangerous goodbye
Books & Book Reviews

A Dangerous Goodbye

Spread the love

A historical mystery is not something I usually read, but I’m really glad I chose to read and review A Dangerous Goodbye!

A Dangerous Goodbye

Your lost love never came home after the war. Would you risk everything to find out what happened to him?

1944. While war rages in Europe, Fenella Churche is doing her bit in the green fields of England. But when she finds a letter addressed to her on the scrubbed farmhouse table, she knows the news won’t be good. She hasn’t heard from her fiancé Arthur since he was posted to France on a dangerous undercover mission, and from his very first words she knows he may not be coming back.

I fear this may be my last letter to you, my darling, Arthur writes. Fen won’t give up hope and calls the war office, wanting to know if Arthur is still alive; they refuse to tell her anything. Searching for answers, she returns to his letter, but parts of it just don’t make sense. Through her tears Fen realises that her darling Arthur is giving her all the clues she needs to find out what happened to him.

1945. With the war behind them and nothing left for her in England, Fen travels to the deceptively pretty French village where she thinks Arthur might be, but there’s no sign of him. She’s close to giving up when she finds his silver cigarette case and another letter full of clues. But when the local priest is killed, it’s clear someone wants to keep wartime secrets buried. If Arthur, a brilliant spy, was outwitted and betrayed, can Fen stay alive long enough to find out what happened to the man she loves?

A gripping story of war, mystery, espionage and murder. Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd and Rhys Bowen will absolutely adore this unputdownable World War Two murder mystery.

A Dangerous Goodbye

My review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

For someone who loves crosswords and word games this was a perfect read – an intriguing historical mystery centering around cryptic word puzzles.

As Fen begins to unravel the clues of Arthur’s death one gets drawn into the story and I couldn’t wait to find out how this was going to end. Although there were enough of possible suspects, the author kept the plot simple and easy to follow.

Fen is a loveable character and although initially a little naïve, she seemed to grow as the story progressed.

I loved the author’s writing style – descriptive, humorous and engaging! Sample this:

And then there was Edith from the East End of London, tall and awkward and with a fondness for anything fanciful. She would be a fairy or a princess if she could, but God had decided, in his great wisdom, that instead she should be five foot nine of clumsiness, and for this she found it hard to forgive him.

Overall, despite the dark background of the War, the book was an entertaining read.

Buy Links

Buy Links:
AmazonApple | Kobo | Google

Author Bio:

A Dangerous Goodbye

Fliss Chester lives in Surrey with her husband and writes historical cozy crime. When she is not killing people off in her 1940s whodunnits, she helps her husband, who is a wine merchant, run their business. Never far from a decent glass of something, Fliss also loves cooking (and writing up her favourite recipes on her blog), enjoying the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside and having a good natter.

Contact Fliss on Twitter | Website | Facebook 

Read what other reviewers have to say about A Dangerous Goodbye

a dangerous goodbye

I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book which I received from the publisher, Bookouture via NetGalley.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: