Books & Book Reviews

The Stages Of Grace

Book Description:
The Stages of Grace was written out of a desire to share with others who have loved ones with Alzheimer’s disease what I have experienced as Grace’ caregiver and friend. I wanted to capture the emotions, the expected and the unexpected issues, the painful times as well as the humorous and loving moments that Grace and I have shared as a result of this disease. This is not mean to be a handbook for dealing with Alzheimer’s disease, but I hope that by sharing my feelings and experiences, readers may recognize they are not alone on this particular journey.
Book Details:
Book Title:  The Stages of Grace: Life and Love in the Face of Alzheimer’s by Connie Ruben
Category:  Adult Non-Fiction,   149 pages
Genre: Memoir, drama
Publisher:   Xlibres
Release date:  July 2015
Format available for review:  Print and ebook (PDF)
Will send print books to: USA & Canada
Tour dates: Nov 21 to Dec 9, 2016
Content Rating: PG (There are a couple of swear words )
Buy the Book:  Amazon  ~
Meet the Author:
Connie Ruben is an entrepreneur with well developed management skills. She has run several large companies, and prides herself on empowering others to work to their full potential. Connie also has an intimate knowledge of the challenges and joys of caring for a family member with Alzheimer’s disease, as her mother-in-law Grace was diagnosed with advanced Alzheimer’s disease in 2003. While Connie still struggles to balance her work life and home life, her understanding of this disease has made it easier for her to negotiate the demands of being a caregiver, as well as a wife, mother, and employer. She has written this book in order to share the insights she has gained as Grace’s primary caregiver and friend. Most importantly, Connie wants this book to assure others that caring for someone with Alzheimer’s disease can be enjoyable, life-affirming, and emotionally significant.
Connect with the author: Website 
My review:
I’m always interested in reading about caregivers – having been one for a brief period, and knowing how challenging it can be. Having a few friends online and offline who are caring for family suffering with Alzheimer’s, I found The Stages of Grace particularly interesting to read.
I loved the authenticity of this memoir that brings out the beautiful relationship between the author and her mother-in-law, Grace. Care givers can learn much from the insights shared, and the author’s journey from fear to acceptance.
By sharing her own emotions, how she struggled to deal with this disease and her fears and care giving mistakes she made, Connie Ruben has made this book relatable and inspiring.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from the author.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge