Year: 2022

Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

How To Save A Life

When you read as many books as I do, you realize that there are very few that will keep you up all night, waiting to see how it ends. How To Save A Life is certainly one of those that gave me a sleepless night! 😉 How To Save A Life One night in December, twenty-two year old Ted Green makes his way to Waterloo Bridge determined to end his life. Lonely, despairing and utterly hopeless, it seems the only choice to make. That same night in December, Marianne Cooper is running away from a party. Having found her boyfriend

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Brown Eyes

It was hard for me to resist a story that is told in part by a dog. When that dog, Benji, is a Labrador like my first dog, I just had to read Brown Eyes. Brown Eyes A watchful eye as a marriage falls apart. The phone call, the rows, and the split are all observed by the family Labrador. He knows the habits and senses the moods of his beloved family members. Seeing them unhappy and hurting each other is unbearable. Where did his perfect life go? Her marriage to Phil in crisis, two children at the challenging teenage

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

A Mother’s Secret

A Mother’s Secret is a gripping, emotional book that asks the question: What does it take to be a parent?Brand new from the bestselling author of The Last Days of Us. A Mother’s Secret In one split second, Aidan Whelan’s perfect world is changed forever when his wife Rowan and three-year old daughter Milly are involved in tragic accident.Helena O’Herlihy and her husband James have been struggling in their marriage but a knock on the door telling her that James has been involved in a car crash, has Helena rushing to his side.When Aidan and Helena bump into each other at

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

A Very Modern Marriage

A Very Modern Marriage is the third instalment of Rachel Brimble’s exciting Victorian saga series, The Ladies of Carson Street. . A Very Modern Marriage He needs a wife…Manchester industrialist William Rose was a poor lad from the slums who pulled himself up by his bootstraps, but in order to achieve his greatest ambitions he must become the epitome of Victorian respectability: a family man. She has a plan…But the only woman who’s caught his eye is sophisticated beauty Octavia Marshall, one of the notorious ladies of Carson Street. Though she was once born to great wealth and privilege, she’s

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Pepper Pot Farm

Pepper Pot Farm is the third book in the Pepper Bay books that I’ve read and reviewed. Pepper Pot Farm Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, drama, friendship, and love. Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin. The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories that intertwine with recurring characters. Tessie Sparrow and Nate Walker have everything a relationship can have, except intimacy. Neither of

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Readers Speak

Have You Ever Stopped Reading ?

Have you ever stopped reading? I have and it was such an unusual and uncomfortable time for me. I was in my early ’40s. I would start a book and couldn’t finish it! And this went on for quite a few months. And for a lifelong reader this was like a punishment. I felt so out of sorts and unlike myself. Strangely, it seemed to coincide with my getting married, moving to a new home and a new city. Was it stress, I wondered? But reading has always been my number was to destress! A few months later, I found

Read more...