Month: September 2021

Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Hot Desk

We’re living in different times. Working life is not the same – with people either working from home or hot desking. I was glad to see a book set in these times – touching upon issues that a new working environment involves and throwing in some good romance in the mix! Hot Desk was an enjoyable read! Hot Desk Same desk, different days. A post-it note is just the beginning… Alice loves her job and wants to keep it – whatever the price. But then she’s told the company is switching to flexible working and hot desking…Alice’s desk might look

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Queen Of Thieves

Queen of Thieves is an unusual story set in unusual times. Queen Of Thieves Gangland was a man’s world – but the women knew differentLondon, 1946. Alice Diamond, the Queen of the Forty Thieves, rules over her gang of hoisters with a bejewelled fist. Nell is a slum girl from Waterloo, hiding a secret pregnancy and facing a desperately uncertain future. Sensing an opportunity to exploit Nell’s vulnerabilities, Alice takes her under her wing and, before long, Nell is experiencing the secret world of hoisting, with all the dangers – and glamorous trappings – that comes with this underworld existence.

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Starlight Cottage

I didn’t know what to expect from Starlight Cottage, but was delighted with this first book I’ve read in the Pepper Bay series by K T Dady. Welcome to Pepper Bay. A small close-knit community where you’ll find chocolate box cottages, quaint shops, drama, friendship, and love. Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin. The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories that intertwine with recurring characters. Starlight Cottage Anna Cooper and Jake Reynolds both

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Snowflakes Over The Starfish Café

Welcome to The Starfish Café – where you will find stunning views, delicious food and lifelong friendships. Isn’t that a great hook for a book? It worked with me. So glad I read Snowflakes Over The Starfish Café. Snowflakes Over the Starfish Café Blurb Two broken hearts. Since she inherited The Starfish Café, Hollie has poured her heart into the business, striving to keep her mother’s traditions and warm-hearted spirit alive. But behind closed doors Hollie is searching for true happiness, as she grieves the tragic loss of her family who were once the beating heart of the café… An

Read more...