Year: 2020

Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Wildflower Graves

Wildflower Graves is Book #2 in the Detective Ellie Reeves series. This follows Rita Herron’s The Silent Dolls that I reviewed here earlier. Description The darkness closed around her. She tried to clear her vision, but there was no light, no noise, nothing. Only the emptiness, the echoing sound of being alone. Fear pulsed through her. The man had come out of nowhere. Who was he? Blinking away tears of frustration, in the pitch black she felt the floor and walls surrounding her. Cold. Steel. Bars. Detective Ellie Reeves heads into the wilds of the Appalachian Mountains when she wants to

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

The Birthday Weekend

I really didn’t know what to expect from The Birthday Weekend as this was my first time reading this author. However, the blurb reeled me in and as I’ve mentioned earlier, recently I’ve started to enjoy reading thrillers too. The Birthday Weekend Dear Louise. It’s time we all put the past behind us. We’re meeting for my birthday. I want you there. Love, Amy. X When Louise receives an invitation to her old friend Amy’s birthday weekend in a cottage next to the woods near their old university campus, a chill runs down her spine. Fifteen years ago, Hannah walked into those same woods and never came back. Her death destroyed her friends. They’ve not met as a group

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Miracles in Wild Rose Bay

Miracles in Wild Rose Bay is another winner from Susan O’Leary and what a pleasure to go back to Sandy Cove and Wild Rose Bay! A truly unforgettable Irish romance set on the shores of the Wild Atlantic Way. Arriving in Sandy Cove to views of the shimmering ocean, Tara O’Rourke is excited to get to work. She’s been sent from New York City to take photos of Ireland for a travel magazine, and she knows the perfect area to visit: the mysterious, picturesque Wild Rose Bay. Staying in her sister Kate’s sweet little cottage, the long nights and beach strolls inspire Tara. But Kate isn’t pleased

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Wedding Bells on Victory Street

Having read Pam Howes’ The Girls of Victory Street, I was glad to read more about them in the Wedding Bells on Victory Street. Wedding Bells on Victory Street From Amazon bestseller Pam Howes comes a heartbreaking World War Two novel about a young woman trying to make the best of history’s darkest hour. Is a happy ever after impossible? Liverpool, 1943. For Bella Rogers, life is looking up. She loves performing with The Bryant Sisters, the singing trio who have become the country’s sweethearts, putting a smile on the faces of the brave boys fighting the Nazis. But then tragedy strikes

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

Double Deceit

It’s only recently that I’ve started enjoying murder mysteries and crime thrillers and so was really keen on reading Double Deceit, an intriguing thriller set in Amsterdam. Double Deceit What if you were framed for a murder you didn’t commit? A gripping, addictive thriller for fans of Angela Clarke, Mel Sherratt and Rachel Lynch. Jennifer Smits is a young mother, married to a hotshot lawyer and living in Amsterdam. Her world explodes when her husband is found dead at a holiday park during a weekend getaway. Convinced that the police have failed in their investigation, she embarks on a desperate

Read more...
Books & Book Reviews, Fiction

A Wild Heart

Something about the cover and the description led me to read A Wild Heart and I’m glad I did. A Wild Heart Alexandria Falconer gazes around the honeyed land of Wild Swan, the extraordinary horse farm she built up from nothing in the border state of Maryland. It has been Alex’s sanctuary through years of turmoil, and she has come of age in this land of opportunity. But the storm clouds of civil war are gathering, and Alex knows she has a choice to make to protect her family and maintain the precarious peace at Wild Swan. When Alex’s son dies tragically, she is shattered. It is only through caring for her adopted daughter, two-year-old Gincie,

Read more...
View More